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Prevailing Wage Questions and Answers 
 

Applying Prevailing Wages for Contracts Issued Under the Montana Procurement Act 

Prepared by the Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) and the Department of Administration (DOA) 

DISCLAIMER: THIS INFORMATION IS PROVIDED FOR THE PURPOSE OF GENERAL 
INFORMATION AND SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS LEGAL ADVICE OR 
COMPLETE COVERAGE OF THE TOPIC. 

 
If you have a question about complying with the prevailing wage regulations (occupations, payroll 
forms, payment of fringe benefits, travel, or per diem, etc.), contact DLI at (406) 444-6543. 

Prevailing Wage Rates are revised and adopted annually.  If you have any questions or concerns 
regarding the rates or how they are determined, contact Mike Smith at (406) 444-1741. 

If you have questions regarding contracting, contact the State Procurement Bureau at (406) 444-2575 
to speak to a Contracts Officer. 

 
Q1. What contracts issued under the Montana Procurement Act are subject to the 

prevailing wage requirements? 
 

A1. Generally, all public works contracts, whether for construction or non-construction services, 
which exceed a total contract value of $25,000, are subject to payment of prevailing wages. A 
"public works contract" is defined in 18-2-401(11)(a), MCA, as "a contract for construction 
services...or for non-construction services let by the state, county, municipality, school district, or 
political subdivision in which the total cost of the contract is in excess of $25,000." 

 
Excluded from the definition of construction services are "engineering, superintendence, 
management, office, or clerical work on a public works project; or consulting contracts, contracts 
with commercial suppliers for goods and supplies, or contracts with professionals licensed under 
state law." 

 
It is required to pay prevailing wages in public works contracts for non-construction services, 
defined in 18-2-401(9), MCA, as "...work performed by an individual, not including management, 
office, or clerical work, for: 

 
(a) the maintenance of publicly owned buildings and facilities, including public 
highways, roads, streets, and alleys; 
(b) custodial or security services for publicly owned buildings and facilities; 
(c) grounds maintenance for publicly owned property; 
(d) the operation of public drinking water supply, waste collection, and waste disposal 
systems; 
(e) law enforcement, including janitors and prison guards; 
(f) fire protection; 

https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0180/chapter_0020/part_0040/section_0010/0180-0020-0040-0010.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0180/chapter_0020/part_0040/section_0010/0180-0020-0040-0010.html
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(g) public or school transportation driving; 
(h) nursing, nurse's aid services, and medical laboratory technician services; 
(i) material and mail handling; 
(j) food service and cooking; 
(k) motor vehicle and construction equipment repair and servicing; and 
(l) appliance and office machine repair and servicing." 

 
Q2. What is a "contract term" or "period" for purposes of applying the prevailing wage 

requirement? Is it only the initial contract term, or does it include possible 
renewal periods the State may employ? 

 
A2. A “contract term” or “period” is the initial contract term plus any possible renewal periods the 
State may exercise. A contract with renewal periods that could make the total contract value 
exceed $25,000 must include the application of the prevailing wage rates. Administrative Rules 
of Montana (ARM) 24.17.141 and 24.17.144 address the requirement to pay the prevailing rate 
of wages on public works contracts. 

 
Q3. On occasion, the State of Montana issues bids from which multiple contracts to 

multiple vendors may be awarded. If the individual contracts issued as a result of 
a bid do not each exceed $25,000 in total contract value, must the requirement for 
the payment of prevailing wages be included? 

 
A3. In accordance with 18-2-401(11)(a), MCA, and ARM 24.17.501, the requirement to pay the 
prevailing wage rates is determined by the total value of the contract or contracts resulting from 
a solicitation issued by the State. Thus, if the State issues a bid with the intent of issuing 
multiple contracts, all contracts awarded under that bid are subject to payment of prevailing 
wages if the total value of all the contracts awarded exceeds $25,000. 

 
Q4. If multiple contracts are issued under a single solicitation, and the contracts are 

awarded in multiple districts, does that affect the wage and benefit rates? 
 

A4. Yes. All contracts must use the highest wage and benefit rates applicable to the relevant 
occupation, ARM 24.17.144 (2). 

http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=24%2E17%2E141
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=24%2E17%2E144
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0180/chapter_0020/part_0040/section_0010/0180-0020-0040-0010.html
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=24%2E17%2E501
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=24%2E17%2E144
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Q5.  At times, a state agency may issue a bid for non-construction services for field 
sites around the state. Taken alone, none of the work at these sites would exceed 
the $25,000 per year mark. However, if added together in the bid, the sum of the 
potential contracts would exceed $25,000 per year. Should prevailing wages be 
required? 

 
A5. Again, if the State issues a single bid for multiple contracts which total in excess of 
$25,000, all contracts are subject to payment of the prevailing wages, as it is considered one 
contract regardless of whether the bid is for field sites around the state. 

 
Q6. Must business owners pay prevailing wages to family members in their employ? 

 
A6. Yes. There is no exemption for family members of owners for the purposes of paying 
prevailing wages. 

 
Q7. Must prevailing wages be paid when contracting with Sheltered Workshops for 

services such as janitorial or mail handling? 
 

A7. To be exempt from paying the applicable prevailing rate of wages when contracting with 
Sheltered Workshops, the contractor must meet the requirements of 18-2-403(5), MCA. 

 
Q8. Does the specific prevailing wage rate or rate book have to be attached to the bid 

document or can it simply reference DLI's website? 
 

A8. Section 18-2-422, MCA, and ARM 24.17.144 clearly require that all public works contracts 
and bid specifications must contain a provision stating for each job classification the standard 
prevailing wage rate, including the fringe benefits, the contractors and employers are obligated 
to pay. The appropriate wage rate booklet must be attached to the contract/bid 
documents. Simply referencing DLI's website is not acceptable. Both the IFB and RFP 
templates contain standard language for including the current prevailing wage rates. 

 
Q9. When prevailing wage requirements apply to a contract, do the requirements 

apply to all disciplines within that contract, except for management, office, or 
clerical work? 

 
A9. Not necessarily, as it depends on what work is called for in the contract. There may be 
services for a craft, trade, or occupation that are not non-construction services. However, when 
there is some question whether any portion of the work to be performed constitutes non- 
construction services, it is advisable to contact Mike Smith at (406)444-1741 DLI (ARM 
24.17.124) for a new job classification and commensurate rate of wages and benefits for a 
particular craft, trade, or occupation. 

https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0180/chapter_0020/part_0040/section_0030/0180-0020-0040-0030.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0180/chapter_0020/part_0040/section_0220/0180-0020-0040-0220.html
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ruleno.asp?RN=24%2E17%2E144
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E17%2E124
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Q10. What if a project includes several job categories and some of these categories 
are not listed in the rate books, e.g., boat or snowmobile operation? Do we 
assume that prevailing wage rates do not apply to these categories? How do we 
determine which rate should apply? 

 
A10. The absence of specific job categories within a rate booklet does not necessarily imply 
payment of prevailing wages is not required. If there are job categories not listed in the rate 
books, you will need to contact Mike Smith at (406)444-1741 . Under ARM 24.17.124, a public 
contracting agency has the option to request establishment of a special job classification and 
commensurate rate of wages for a particular craft, classification, or type of worker needed for a 
particular project. Such a request must be made at least 30 days prior to advertising for bids or 
letting a contract. 

 
Q11. Section 18-2-417, MCA, requires any public works contract that exceeds 30 

months to be fully performed include a provision requiring an adjustment of a 3% 
increase to the prevailing rate of wages. When is this adjustment effective? Is it 
the State's responsibility to pay the adjusted rate? 

 
A11. For a public works contract with an initial term of 30 months or longer, the prevailing 
wage rate must be adjusted 12 months after the contract is effective and must be applied every 
12 months for the term of the contract. Any increase in the standard rate of prevailing wages for 
workers is the sole responsibility of the contractor and any subcontractors, and not the 
contracting agency. The 3% increase applies to the base wage plus the fringe benefit amount. 
The increased rates become effective the first week of the 13th month. 

 
Although not required for this situation, the contracting agency may choose to include in the 
contract the requirement to pay increased wages and benefit amounts following each 12-month 
anniversary date of the contract. 

 
Q12. What constitutes a 30-month contract? Is a one-year contract with three one-year 

renewals considered a 30-month contract? 
 

A12. A contract becomes subject to the 3% rate increase when the contract length becomes 
more than 30 months. In the case of a one-year contract with three one-year renewals, if the 
initial 12-month contract is renewed annually, the 3% rate increase becomes effective upon the 
second renewal, and the 3% is paid starting in the third year of the contract beginning with the 
25th month. 

http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?RN=24%2E17%2E124
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0180/chapter_0020/part_0040/section_0170/0180-0020-0040-0170.html
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Q13. A contract is issued for a three-year period. The contractor is required to pay the 
prevailing wage in effect at the time the solicitation was issued with 3% increases 
every 12 months. What rate should the contractor pay if, after the initial three- 
year period, the contract is renewed for a new two-year period? 

 
A13. If the initial contract provides for an extension of the contract at the same negotiated 
compensation rate originally agreed on, this constitutes a "renewal" that would utilize the same 
prevailing wage rates (base and fringe benefits) in effect at the time of the initial solicitation. 

 
An increased or decreased compensation rate or change in the terms of the contract, for the 
contractor during the agreed extension of the contract, constitutes a "renegotiation" and the 
prevailing wage rates in effect at the time of such renegotiation would apply. In addition, the 30-
month period restarts. 

 
Q14. If a one-year contract with three one-year renewals is considered a 30-month 

contract, does the original wage rate specified in the solicitation need to be 
adjusted to the then-current wage rate, and then be adjusted by 3%? 

 
A14. A contract which has the potential to exceed 30 months in duration will use the original 
wage rate (base and fringe benefits) throughout its duration unless the compensation rate for 
the contractor is renegotiated. See question 13. 

 
If the original solicitation contemplates either an original contract term which exceeds 30 
months, or periodic renewals which could cause the term of performance to exceed 30 months, 
the solicitation should, but is not required to, mention the requirement for a 3% increase in 
wages to be paid by the contractor. 

 
Q15. If at time of renewal, the State has established new prevailing wage rates and the 

new prevailing wage rate represents a decrease, is a contractor responsible for 
adding 3% to the new lower prevailing wage rate? 

 
A15. If the contract is renewed with no change in the compensation rate paid to the contractor, 
then the prevailing wage rate remains based on the rates in effect for the original contract, and 
the contractor must calculate increases on the original rates. 

 
If the contract is renegotiated, with an increase or decrease in the compensation rate paid to the 
contractor, then the wage rate is based on the rates in force at the time the renegotiated 
contract is effective. This change in the compensation rate restarts the 30-month period.  
A contract renegotiation restarts the 30-month period AND implements use of the current 
prevailing wage rates. 

 
In the case of a contract renewal with no renegotiation, after 30 months, the 3% increase 
applies. The 3% increase continues to apply every 12 months if the contract is renewed without 
renegotiation. 
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EXAMPLES 

30-MONTH CONTRACT 12-MONTH CONTRACT 12-MONTH CONTRACT 18-MONTH CONTRACT 

3% must be applied 

every 12 months 

1st 12 months 

NO 3% INCREASE 

1st 12 months 

NO 3% INCREASE 

1st 18 months 

NO 3% INCREASE 

  2nd 12 months WITH 2nd 18 months with 
A renegotiation at the end 

of the contract restarts 
the 30-month period, 

 
AND current prevailing 

wage rates APPLY 

 
2nd 12 months with 

 
NO renegotiation in contract 

NO 3% INCREASE 

a renegotiation in contract 

3% INCREASE 

DOES NOT APPLY, but current 
prevailing wage rates APPLY 

(30-month period restarts) 

NO renegotiation in contract 

3% INCREASE APPLIES 
starting in the 19th month 

 
(reached 30-month 

threshold) 

 3rd 12 months with   
  3rd 12 months with  
 NO renegotiation in contract  3rd 18 months with 

A renewal at the end of 
the contract continues 

the 3% increase 

3% INCREASE APPLIES 
starting in the 25th month 

NO renegotiation in contract 

3% INCREASE NO renegotiation in contract 

3% INCREASE APPLIES 
 (reached 30-month 

threshold) 
DOES NOT APPLY  

 
4th 12 months WITH a 

renegotiation in contract 

3% INCREASE 
 

DOES NOT APPLY, but current 
prevailing wage rates APPLY 

(30-month period restarts) 

 
4th 12 months with 

 
NO renegotiation in contract 

3% INCREASE 

DOES NOT APPLY 

4th 18 months WITH 
 

a renegotiation in contract 

3% INCREASE 

DOES NOT APPLY, but current 
prevailing wage rates APPLY 

(30-month period restarts) 

 5th 12 months with   
 5th 12 months with 

NO renegotiation in contract 

3% INCREASE NO renegotiation in contract 

3% INCREASE APPLIES 
DOES NOT APPLY  
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30 – MONTH CONTRACT 12 – MONTH CONTRACT 12 – MONTH CONTRACT 18-MONTH CONTRACT 

 6th 12 months with 

NO renegotiation in contract 

3% INCREASE APPLIES 
starting in the 25th month 

 
(reached 30-month threshold 

again) 

 
 

6th 12 months with 
 

NO renegotiation in contract 

3% INCREASE APPLIES 

 

 7th 12 months with 
 

NO renegotiation in contract 

3% INCREASE APPLIES 

7th 12 months with 
 

NO renegotiation in contract 

3% INCREASE APPLIES 

 

 
 
Q16. Section 18-2-421, MCA, requires that a notice of acceptance and the completion 

date of the project must be sent to the Department of Labor and Industry when a 
public works project in the amount of $50,000 or more is accepted by the public 
contracting agency. Does the acceptance and completion date notice 
requirement of 18-2-421, MCA, apply to non-construction services? If so, when 
would the notice be issued? 

 
A16. Yes, the notice applies to non-construction services including service contracts. The 
notice must be issued when all the terms of the contract have been satisfactorily performed, and 
when the initial contract and any permitted extensions have expired. The completion date of the 
project for non-construction services is the last date services were rendered. The notice should 
state the agency's approval and final acceptance of the project and provide the date of 
acceptance. 

 
In addition, should a warranty period exist, the beginning and completion dates should be 
included. This notice then triggers DLI's 90-day audit period to determine whether the 
contractor has paid workers less than the standard prevailing wage. A sample Completion 
Notice is available at the following website: http://spb.mt.gov/Procurement-Guide. 

https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0180/chapter_0020/part_0040/section_0210/0180-0020-0040-0210.html
http://spb.mt.gov/Procurement-Guide
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